Day 1: I’M ALONE IN LONDON

My family and I took two different flights to London and they were supposed to arrive an hour after me, but instead, they’re arriving tomorrow because their flight was cancelled, which sucks on so many levels. While they’re stuck in Calgary, I was forced to find my way out of the Gatwick airport and take on the UK by myself. I am so glad my people skills have improved in the past couple of years and my shyness went down because I had to build the courage to ask about an oyster card, how to get to my destination and the best way to get there. I’m pretty proud of myself for riding the Tube alone, and circling around Soho to meet with my Airbnb host. I made it here in one piece, and I am exhausted. As much as I wanted to pass out on the couch, it was only around 14:00 when I arrived, so I forced myself to explore the neighborhood to help with the jet lag.

I am in love with the streets here in Soho. It’s so busy and there is a huge range of stores to shop at and food t eat. I was surpriIMG_6226sed that there weren’t any designated crosswalks. People walked across streets when there wasn’t an incoming car, and I just followed. What I learned was to not make yourself look like a tourist. Don’t look completely lost and definitely do not watch where you walk. It wasn’t too bad for me since quite a lot of people were walking with their eyes on their phone anyways (but I was using mine for Google maps, lol). Oh! I was also very happy about all of the Pokestops around the neighborhood. I just had to throw that in there. But anyways, my thoughts are unorganized and I’m rambling as I create this post, so thank you for bearing with me this far. After I met with my host and settled in the apartment, I took a well-needed shower and got dressed for my afternoon stroll through the streets. I didn’t know what I was going to do since our initial plan was to visit the Parliament, Big Ben and the London Eye to keep us awake after the flight, but obviously that plan needed to IMG_4972be be rescheduled. I looked up some cheap eats less than half a mile away from me and I didn’t realize there was actually A LOT to eat around me. I was craving for a burger and fries (how American of me), but I didn’t want to eat “American” food while in London. But guess what? Instead, I had Thai food. I ordered pad thai from Busaba Eathai Soho for take out because I don’t like eating in a restaurant alone and my first impression was the restaurant looked a bit fancy shmancy, but the prices were decent. My pad thai was almost 9 pounds. When I ate it, I was disappointed because it tasted really plain. I forgot that the waitress normally asks how many stars I would like for my pad thai, but she didn’t. Did she forget too or do they not make spicy Thai food here? But other than that, it smelled good and big portion size.

Before getting dinner, I wanted to buy make up because there are brands in London that the states don’t have, so of course I had to bring some back home. I walked a couple of blocks to a store that sold “drugstore make up” called Boots, which is similar to Target or Walmart in the states, and this is what I picked up.

  • Sleek MakeUP Highlighter palette in PreciouProcessed with VSCO with hb2 presets Metals
  • Sleek MakeUP Face Form palette in Medium
  • Bourjois Radiance reveal healthy mix foundation in 54 Beige (I honestly don’t know why I purchased foundation when my skin tone will be darker by the end of this trip…)
  • Bourjois Bronzing Powder in 51 and their limited edition Tropical Festival 52
  • Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer in Warm Medium 3
  • Barry M nail polishes

On my way back to IMG_6805.jpgthe apartment, I walked passed The Hummingbird Bakery and I had to buy cupcakes. While I was researching food places beforehand, this bakery was mentioned a few times so I thought I would try it out. I bought their red velvet and salted caramel
cupcakes. The staff there were all very kind and helpful since they had a lot more than cupcakes.

The cake itself was moist, exactly how I love my cupcakes. The cream cheese frosting on the red velvet was amazing. The frosting on the salted caramel was a little too salty for my liking, but it wasn’t terrible. I enjoyed both cupcakes, however, the frosting was extremely rich and flavorful compared to the cake. There wasn’t a good balance when biting into the cupcake, so I would give the cupcakes 3/5 stars.

 

Whew! How was that for my first day in London? Although it didn’t go exactly as planned, I’m glad I found another way to use my time here. If you read through this entire post, I applaud you. Thank you for taking the time to read about my experience. Stay updated for more posts! Goodnight and I will be back soon.

xoxo,

Brittney

 

Leave a Reply

